Summer Internship Update

It’s been a few months since I last posted, so here’s a quick update.

I spent the first 7 weeks of summer working at an e-commerce firm in Andover, Massachusetts. I worked with 4 other marketing interns, primarily focusing on leveraging social media as a marketing medium. We had a surprisingly substantial budget, and I learned a lot about google advertising, cost per click, pay per click, conversion rates, advertising on Bing, and advertising on Twitter and StumbleUpon. We built a facebook page for our company, taking the fan page to 3,000 fans in the 7 weeks. We increased sales, traffic, click through rates, and several other metrics by huge amounts, between 400 and 700% each. We operated as a trial run for several different approaches to social media marketing, so that the marketing department for our parent company had a basic guideline of what could work for them. I had a difficult time personally but I had an amazing time professionally. I learned an incredible amount, earned some serious real-world experience, and achieved a few things that I’m quite proud to write on my resume.

Currently, I’m back to working at my local amusement/water park. I work long grueling summers, but I’m glad to be doing something with my time. It’s weird to head back to a place I spent 3 summers at. The days are long and I work hard, but I only have 3 more days.

Today is the 11th, and I leave on the 16th for the Netherlands, where I will be working for Crocs, the shoe company. I’m very excited to be going back to the country I was born in. I’ll be spending a month there, the longest amount of time I’ve spent in Holland since I left at age 5. I’ll hopefully post an update when I return.

Leave a comment