May Update

Well it’s been a bit since my last post, so I figured it was time to give a little update. There have been a few interesting transitions in my life since the last time I wrote anything here, in most of the big areas:

Thesis – My partner and I have signed the paperwork with the University and IBM, meaning it’s done and dusted. Our thesis will examine the financial and non-financial incentives in Smarter Cities projects, and we have begun exploratory research into collaborative models, stakeholder networks, incentive frameworks and exploratory interviews, amongst others. It’s still early, but it’s an absolute pleasure to focus in such an exciting area for my thesis – I feel genuinely lucky. I’ve mentioned before that I’m interested in a technology-related field, and it’s no coincidence that I end up with an IBM Smarter Cities project for my final thesis. If you don’t know much about these projects I highly encourage you to check out some videos, there’s plenty of material on the internet. Basically cities are using data to create societal advances in safety, comfort, environmental friendliness, efficiency and speed.

MBA – The program is over, sort of. The traditional lecture blocks are over and we’ve moved into our elective lectures, (I just finished my sustainability course last week with a presentation to Interface Flor, a company that seriously changed my perception of the carpet industry), and now we’re nearing our two remaining international modules, (China and South Africa for me), and a few remaining lectures. Then we focus solely on our final projects until graduation in September.

Arsenal – A huge win over Newcastle, (did I mention I saw my first live Arsenal game vs. Newcastle at the Emirates this season?), secured the fourth and final Champions League spot, pending a qualifier. It’s been a crazy year, with a dreadful beginning and an incredible finish – Arsenal finished with the best end-season form in the Premier League. The financial tide appears to be turning as sponsorships are renegotiated, (Emirates Airlines + Puma are the two big deals, with the Airline signed on but no formal agreement with Puma as of yet), providing the foundation for an aggressive approach in the transfer market. The annual war-chest rumors appear to be hovering between 70 and 100 million pounds, giving Arsene Wenger plenty to work with. Personally I think we need to reinvest into two, maybe 3 positions. I’d like to see a new starting striker, (Higuain and Jovetic have been linked, happy with both), a new defensive midfielder, (Gonalons and Capoue rumored, don’t know enough of either to make a comment), and potentially a new right back pending Sagna’s contract negotiations. With the right acquisitions I could see Arsenal making a strong push for silverware in 2013/2014, but a complacent and lazy summer could see the team stretch it’s luck a bit too far and lose out on the Champions League.

Job Search – Not much progress here. Projects, examinations and a wrist injury have kept me busy and unable to make serious advances in my search, but I’m beginning to feel a lean towards management traineeships. The cross-functional experience and (potentially) international setting combine to create a very attractive proposal for me, but I want to make sure the culture is a fit. I’m a long-term planner and I’m looking for an opportunity that extends past the short-term.

I’ll leave you with a quote I find worth remembering – “Work hard in silence, let your success do the talking.”

-Harry

Leave a comment