The Job Search

Well – it has begun. The job search.

It’s a bit difficult for me to iron down exactly where I want to be next year. I have a lot of questions for myself because I haven’t yet established my target in each of the three key dimensions:

  1. Geographically – Should I stay in the Netherlands, return to Portland, or try somewhere new(ish) like Denver or Boston?
  2. Firm – Should I follow my passions – technology, gaming and sports? Should I follow the footsteps of my father and grandfathers before me – footwear? Should I explore something new, like clean energy? Should I take whatever position I can get? Should I target the job security of a large established firm or the excitement of a start-up?
  3. Function – With some experience in E-Marketing, Finance, Product Development and Consulting I have narrowed my list of functions down to: not finance. I’m very interested in marketing, sales and social media positions, at least to begin my career.

 

I’m halfway through the MBA and I believe it’s time to begin planning for the real world. Graduation will creep up sooner than I think, (the University of Oregon taught me that), and I intend to be prepared. In the upcoming weeks I will begin narrowing down my search to more specific industries, cities, firms and functions, and I will attempt to keep this blog updated as I search for the right job for me. The MBA is going to get considerably more hectic in the coming months, however, mainly due to the fact that I’m adding my thesis project to the workload, (the thesis process begins for most students in June, but my partner and I decided to get a head start).

 

Harry

Leave a comment